Make your own free website on

Home Contact History Site Map


Stuff We're Hawk'en
Wildwood 2003

  2003 ENF Legacy:

Who is Eligible?

Any child or grandchild (or step-child, step-grandchild, or legal ward) of an Elk who has been a member in good standing for at least two years is eligible to apply. The Elk must have been a member since at least April 1, 2000, or a charter member of a Lodge that was instituted since April 1, 2000, is eligible to apply. The Elks must also be a paid-up member through March 31, 2003. Great-grandchildren are not eligible.

The applicant must be a high school senior. and must apply through the related member's Elks Lodge, regardless of where the applicant resides.

If the applicant's parent and grandparent are both Elks members, the applicant should apply through the parent's Elks Lodge.

Students may apply for more than one ENF scholarship; however, they may win only one. In cases where the student qualifies for more than one, we will award the scholarship with the greater value.

Legacy Awards may only be applied to accredited US American schools, colleges or universities. (Note: Applicants from Guam, Panama, Puerto Rico and the Philippines may apply Legacy Awards toward schools, colleges or universities in their respective homes.)

Applicants must take the Scholastic Aptitude Test or the American College Test.

Download Legacy Scholarship
Application Form

Scholarship application forms are distributed via email attachment. Please supply your email address and select a button for the type of file format you'd like receive. The Legacy Award contest deadline is January 10, 2003. For more information about this contest, see our FAQ page at

Your email address:
Where did you hear about the Elks Legacy Awards?
Legacy Application File Format: Microsoft Word Document
Adobe Acrobat PDF File


Bayonne Elks Cyber-Lodge 2003

Designed by Graphic Concepts

  2003 ENF Scholarships:

Most Valuable Student

Applications for the Elks National Foundation's 2003 Most Valuable Student contest will be available beginning September 15, 2002 at your local Elks Lodge, online or by sending a self-addressed, stamped envelope to the Foundation. Applications for the 2003 contest have to be submitted to your local Elks Lodge by January 10, 2003. Winners of the 2003 contest will be announced by May 15, 2003. The Elks National Foundation will award 500 four-year scholarships to the highest-rated boys and girls in the 2003 competition. Any high school senior who is a citizen of the United States is eligible to apply. Applicants need not be related to a member of the Elks. College students are not eligible to apply. Applicants must be citizens of the United States on the date their applications are signed; resident alien status does not qualify.

Applicants will be judged on financial need, leadership and scholarship. All scholarships are in the form of certificates of award conditional upon the enrollment of the winner in an accredited US college or university.

Applications must advance through local, district and state competition to reach the national competition. The Chicago office of the Elks National Foundation will announce the 500 national winners, and notify them in writing, around May 15, 2003. (Many local Lodges, districts and state Elks associations award their own scholarships through this program. These scholarships are not to be confused with the 500 Elks National Foundation Most Valuable Student Scholarships.)

To locate an Elks Lodge near you, try your phone book or

Ranging from $1,000 per year to $15,000 per year, Most Valuable Student scholarships are for students pursuing a four-year degree, on a full-time basis (minimum of 12 semester hours), in a US American college or university. Male and female students compete separately.

Requests for additional information should be addressed to the scholarship chairman of the local Lodge or of the Elks association of the state in which the applicant is a resident.

Through this Most Valuable Student competition and its four other scholarship programs, the Elks National Foundation annually awards $3.4 million in scholarships. In addition, many state Elks associations and Lodges offer scholarships. Contact your local Lodge for more information.

The Most Valuable Student program was established in 1931.

2003 Most Valuable Student Award Offers
500 Four-Year Awards for the
2003-04, 2004-05, 2005-06 and 2006-07 Academic Years

  Four-Year Total Award No. of Awards Total
First $60,000 2 $120,000
Second $40,000 2 $80,000
Third $20,000 2 $40,000
Fourth $4,000 494 $1,976,000
Total: $2,216,000

[Directions] [News] [Stuff We're Hawk'en] [Committees] [Wildwood 2003] [Scholarships] [Links]